Technical Universities in Ghana.

Photo of author
Written By Editorial Team






This is the official admin account for Ghana Insider. We cover everything general in Ghana. Feel free to contact us for advertisements, endorsement, shout outs and more. Email: i[email protected] or visit our homepage:

This post includes:

  • list of Technical Universities in Ghana.
  • Courses offered and many more.

In this era where technological advancement has been on top levels, Technical Universities have no option than to increase its numbers in the country to train people for these new challenges.

Technical Universities in Ghana mostly focus on the science-based fields which are the center for these technologies.

Currently, there are eight (8) Technical Universities in Ghana according to the National Accreditation Board (NAB).

Also, there are other two polytechnics that have not been converted by NAB into the Technical Universities System ever since it emerges in the country.

These two include Wa Polytechnic and Bolgatanga Polytechnic.

This article brings you the ins and outs of the various Technical Universities in Ghana.

List of Technical Universities in Ghana.


Kumasi Technical University was founded in 1954 as Kumasi Technical Institute (K.T.I) purposely to train students in craftwork. In 1963, the status of the school was converted to a non-tertiary Polytechnic by the Ghana Education Service.

Again in 1992, the institution was upgraded to a Polytechnic by the Polytechnic Law, 1992 (PNDC L.321) to train its students with a trained manpower skill in the areas of manufacturing, commerce, science and technology to speed technological development.

READ ALSO:  Ghana Water Company Billing System. All You Need To Know

Finally, it was upgraded to a Technical University by the Technical University Act 2016, (Act 922). Hence the name Kumasi Technical University (KsTU) providing higher education in fields of engineering, applied arts, science technology-based disciplines, technical and vocational training.

Currently, the university has the following faculties:

  • Business school
  • Faculty of Applied Sciences and Technology
  • Faculty of Built and Natural Environment
  • Faculty of Creative Arts and Technology
  • Faculty of Engineering and Technology
  • Faculty of Entrepreneurship and Enterprise Development
  • Faculty of Health Sciences



Accra Technical University was founded in 1949 as a Technical School. It was then upgraded to Accra Technical Institute in 1957.

It was again converted to Accra Polytechnic by the then President Dr. Kwame Nkrumah and started operating as a full Polytechnic by the Polytechnic Law of 1992 (PNDC 321).

Later on, it was finally converted to Accra Technical University by Technical University Act 2016, (Act 922).

Accra Technical offers the following courses;

  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Building Technology
  • Civil Engineering
  • Furniture Design and Production
  • Accountancy
  • Science and Technology
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Fashion Design and Textiles

Among others.


Takoradi Technical University was established in 1954 as a Technical Institute. It was then converted to Polytechnic by the Polytechnic Law 1992 (PNDCL 321).

READ ALSO:  Leyland Paint Prices in Ghana.

Finally, it was upgraded to Technical University by the Technical University Act 2016, (Act 922). Takoradi Technical University offers science-based courses and other disciplines.

  1. Ho Technical University

Ho Technical University started as Technical Institute in 1968. It was then upgraded to Polytechnic in 1986 and it operated as a full polytechnic by the law (Polytechnic Law 321).

Again, and finally, it was converted to the Technical University status after the law was enacted.

The Technical University offers courses in the various science disciplines and others.

  1. Sunyani Technical University

 The Sunyani Technical University started as Sunyani Technical Institute (SUTECH) in 1967 and offered Technical and Vocational education to its students.

Where it offered hands-on Craft/ Intermediate Block-Layering and concreting. It was then converted to Sunyani Polytechnics (SPOLY) by the Polytechnics Act 745.

Finally, in 2016, the then Sunyani Polytechnic was upgraded to Sunyani Technical University by Technical University Act 2016, (Act 922).

The school offers programs in Engineering, Science and Technology, and among others.

  1. Cape Coast Technical University

Cape Coast Technical University was operating under Ghana Education Services as a second cycle institution in 1986. By then, it was awarding non-tertiary certificates.

READ ALSO:  Record Labels in Ghana. Complete List

It got its polytechnic status after Polytechnic (PNDC Law 321) was enacted in 1993.

Currently, it achieved its Technical University status after the Technical University Act 2016, (Act 922) law was enacted.

The university offers courses in various disciplines such as engineering, science and technology.

  1. Tamale Technical University

Tamale Technical University is Africa’s premier university in northern Ghana. The university was established in 1951 and attained it Technical University in 2018 after the Technical University Act 2016, (Act 922) was enacted.

Currently, the technical university has four faculties which include Faculty of Applied Arts, Faculty of Applied Science and Technology, Faculty of Business and Faculty of Engineering and Built Environment.

  1. Koforidua Technical University

Koforidua Technical University was founded in 1997 and has passed various stages until its current status. It is a non-profit public higher education institution located in Koforidua.

Koforidua Technical University offers courses and programs in the various fields such as Applied Sciences and Technology, Faculty Engineering, Faculty of Health and Allied Sciences, Faculty of Built and Natural Environment.

Thanks for passing by. View other useful links below.

Other Useful Links.


Leave a Comment