NSMQ Winners Table From 1994

By | June 11, 2022

Prempeh College holds the record as the first school to ever win the NSMQ competition. However, other senior high schools have outperformed Prempeh College in terms of total wins. Take note, the NSMQ competition begun in 1994. 

You can be easily electrocuted when you touch a live electric wire but then, why wouldn’t a bird get electrocuted when it stands on a live electric wire? 

The question above generated the idea of a “National Science And Maths Quiz” in a tennis court of the University of Ghana, Legon (1993). Get to know more about the NSMQ competition below. 

About The NSMQ

The National Science And Maths Quiz (NSMQ) aims at promoting the study of science and mathematics, assisting students in acquiring quick thinking skills and, a probing and scientific mind about our everyday world, as well as breeding healthy academic rivalry among senior high schools.

Brief History The NSMQ

The National Science And Maths Quiz was founded in 1993 by Kwaku Mensa-Bonsu, the managing director of Primetime by then.

The idea of setting up the NSMQ came about as a result of an interaction between Kwaku Mensa Bonsu with his friends, the late Professors Marian Ewurama Addy and Ebenezer Kweku Awotwe on why a bird can stand on a live electric wire without being electrocuted.

The maiden edition of the National Science And Maths Quiz comprised of 32 schools across Ghana and these schools were divided into the Northern Sector and Southern Sector, containing 16 schools per sector. Champions (or winners) in both sectors were brought to Accra for the national championship.

As mentioned earlier, the maiden edition of the National Science And Maths Quiz competition was won by Prempeh College. The second edition of the NSMQ was also won by Presbyterian Boys’ Secondary School.

The table below contains all the winners of the National Science And Maths Quiz competition.

NB: The NSMQ Competition didn’t take place in 2010 and 2011

Table Of All NSMQ Winners

Year Winner
1994 Prempeh College
1995 PRESEC–Legon
1996 Prempeh College
1997 Opoku Ware Senior High School
1998 Achimota School
1999 Mfantsipim School
2000 St Peter’s Senior High School
2001 Pope John Senior High School
2002 Opoku Ware Senior High School
2003 PRESEC–Legon
2004 Achimota School
2005  St Peter’s Senior High School
2006 PRESEC–Legon
2007 St Augustine’s College
2008 PRESEC–Legon
2009 PRESEC–Legon
2012 Ghana Secondary Technical School
2013 St Thomas Aquinas
2014 Mfantsipim School
2015 Prempeh College
2016 Adisadel College
2017 Prempeh College
2018 St Peter’s Senior High School
2019 St. Augustine’s College
2020 PRESEC–Legon
2021 Prempeh College


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *